Remake

Loading Events

« All Events

Fashioning a Fibershed

June 25 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

We are so excited that Rust Belt Fibershed will be joining our Remake community for a virtual program on June 25th from 9:00 am PT / 12:00 pm ET / 9:30 pm IST! During this program, you will gain insights into how the Rust Belt Fibershed team and partners are creating a ‘soil to soil’ textile ecosystem in their region, the process of creating natural clothing, and how you can make similar changes in your communities.

Rust Belt Fibershed is a bioregional textile community that includes a 250 mile radius outside of Cleveland, Ohio including parts of Michigan, southern Ohio, Western Pennsylvania and Western New York. It is thier goal to build a community that collaboratively supports locally grown textiles in a way that decrease consumption of fast fashion and works to restore soil health. They aspire to connect everyone in all parts of our local fiber system: farmers, fiber processors–from large mills to home spinners, weavers, dyers and fiber artists–to designers, shop owners, fiber enthusiasts, and all consumers of textiles. Their fibershed creates a collaborative network of regenerative fiber farmers, processors, and designers from the Rust Belt Region to explore the possibilities of working with the resources in our fibershed, in particular wool, alpaca, flax, and plant dyes. They teach stewardship of our land and resources, foster friendship and creativity, and facilitate conversations and strategies that address the challenges of a localized fiber supply chain.

Details

Date:
June 25
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.tickettailor.com/events/remake1/1277085

Venue

Zoom (Remote)